Thursday, October 22, 2020

Desserts For Restrictive Diets

Finding a good dessert with diet restrictions can be hard, especially if you have an allergy. There are plenty of ways that you can still satisfy your sweet tooth with a tasty dessert with dietary restrictions. Sometimes the options can be a little pricer because of the alternate ingredients, but they are worth it. Here are some modified dessert options for those with dietary restrictions.

Gluten- Free S’mores
A gooey and delicious s’more is something not many want to completely get rid of, so finding a way to make it gluten-free will let you keep one of your favorite desserts. Gluten-free graham crackers are not impossible to find. There are a few brands that make gluten-free crackers like Enjoy Life, Pamela’s Products, and Schar. These brands make a variety of gluten-free products. Enjoy Life uses products that are free of the most common allergies.

After choosing your gluten-free graham crackers, choosing a gluten-free marshmallow would be the next step. Kraft is said to have gluten-free marshmallows. Kraft has said their marshmallows are not able to be cross-contaminated during the production process. There are many options for those looking for gluten-free chocolate, or even vegan chocolate, soy-free chocolate, and peanut and tree nut-free chocolate.

Almond Butter Cookies
For those who are allergic to peanuts but not other nuts, you can use an alternative recipe when making cookies. Rather than making peanut butter cookies, make almond butter cookies or use another peanut butter alternative like sunflower butter. Typically the recipe is very similar to a peanut butter cookie recipe, so finding any nut butter recipe and substituting with your choice whether it is almond butter or another substitute.

Vegan Chocolate Candies
If you don’t want to put anything together yourself, you can always buy some already made vegan chocolate candies from a shop that doesn’t use animal byproducts. Pure Lovin’ Chocolate doesn’t use dairy in their products and also mentions that cross-contamination is slim for their dark chocolate, but the other chocolates are said to be dairy-free with no chance of cross-contamination. Buying some chocolate can be easier than making your own desserts that work for a restrictive diet.



Eggless Funfetti Cake
Some people have egg allergies and eating an eggless cake will allow them to have a dessert they enjoy. You won’t have to give up cake if you are able to find a perfect substitute. Applesauce is used in some cases as well as mashed bananas. There are also egg replacers that can be purchased from a grocery store that can be used to replace the egg to ensure the cake tastes how it would if you had used cake.

Finding an alternative for your dietary restrictions is not impossible. Finding the right modified dessert for you may take some time and experimentation, but will be worth it in the end to satisfy your sweet tooth.

No comments: