Skip to main content

Other Bodies by Joel Ohman




Hey Neighbors!

I really cut back on book reviews, because my reading schedule varies so much now, and I hate to have to read a book just because a review is due.  So, that being said I thought this book looked interesting.  It is, "Other Bodies" by Joel Ohman.  I had never heard of this author before, but thought I would give it a try.

First a little about the author:
Joel Ohman lives in Tampa, FL with his wife Angela and their three kids. His writing companion is Caesar, a slightly overweight Bull Mastiff who loves to eat the tops off of strawberries.                  Joel is the author of the #1 bestselling Meritropolis series—“The Hunger Games meets The Village with a young Jack Reacher as a protagonist”.                                                                                      Joel is a Christian, CEO, CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™, author, angel investor, and serial entrepreneur who loves creating new things, whether books or businesses. He is the founder of a number of web startups and currently serves as the CEO and lead operator of 360 Quote, a private equity backed platform company in the online lead generation space, the co-founder and CEO of a B2B SaaS software company, Exercise.com, and has also previously served as the founder and resident CFP® of a national insurance agency, Real Time Health Quotes.
Other Bodies:
For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything...

In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal.

Welcome to Hattie Martins' dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems...

Just as her life is looking up--a new job, new friends, a new date--Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don't always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it's too late? 

In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? 

What is real? 

Which bodies matter? 

What about the other bodies?... 

In this blistering new young adult novel from the #1 bestselling author of the Meritropolis series, readers will question everything they know about life and reality in a unique dystopian adventure that is equal parts moral dilemma and romance.

If you enjoy Veronica Roth, James Dashner, or Suzanne Collins then this is the story of the year you won't want to miss. BUY NOW.

*Subject matter includes references to euthanasia, abortion, and teenage pregnancy. There are NO sex scenes and NO curse words. This is a stand-alone book with a complete story from beginning to end. There are NO cliff-hangers and this is NOT a part of a series.*



My Take:
I honestly was not sure if I would like the book after I started.  This book is designed for teens, and honestly, I am not.  That being said, I personally would not recommend this book for Christian families who are raising their children with a Christian mindset, unless you read it yourself first.  It is probably darker and covers some themes you may not want to expose your teen to.  Now, I did finish the entire book, and feel that it covered many of the vary situations we are facing in today's society.  Hattie made a choice she ends up deeply regretting, but it is too late.  I personally do not care for this style of writing, and honestly do not consider it an openly Christian book.  I feel that those outside the   Managed Motherhood were typecast as not normal.  Overall I was more impressed than I thought I would be, but still this is simply not my type of book.

“Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255:  “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”):  Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway.  Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation.  I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

Comments

I am reading this and find it hard to get into asking I am a Christian and find it a hard read. Having been through a teen pregnancy myself, I know the heartache and pain involved in choosing life and being looked at like you did something wrong... I was raped and became pregnant. I thank you for your take on this and sharing your thoughts, it was helpful to me.

Linda Marie Finn
faithfulacresbooks@gmail.com

Popular posts from this blog

Polar FA20 Activity Watch Review and Giveaway

Hi Neighbors, Well, I am out of the hospital, but I am not allowed to be very active yet, so I asked my daughter to test out this new item. It is an Activity Watch. What a great item for Get Out Get Active! The Polar FA20 counts your daily physical activity. First you need to set the basic information. The date, units (metric or imperial), your weight, height, birth date, and male or female. Place the FA20 on your wrist to measure your physical activity 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This watch monitors your activity and gives you feedback about how you are doing. Everyone should be physically active at least 30 minutes each day, and the FA20 helps you achieve this. Throughout your day you can check and see if you are having a Lazy Day (active less than 30 minutes), Easy Day (active 30 to 60 minutes), Active Day (active 60 to 75 minutes) or an Intensive Day (active more than 75 minutes). You can also record your training sessions to learn more about how your body respon

Prilosec OTC $25 Rebate plus a $100 AMEX Giveaway

Hey Neighbors! Do you suffer from heartburn? I do sometimes. I personally can not eat really spicy foods. Problem? I LOVE MEXICAN! So does my whole family. My husband enjoys really spicy foods and sometimes suffers from it. Solution? Have you heard about Prilosec OTC? If not perhaps you would like to try it. Prilosec OTC has a special offer going on right now through February 15th. Buy 2 Prilosec OTC and get $25 back. Now, I personally have not tried Prilosec OTC yet. But according to the site: "How and Why Prilosec OTC® Works Prilosec OTC Blocks Heartburn When you eat, millions of tiny pumps in your stomach lining create acid to break down food. Normally your lower esophageal sphincter (LES) works as a door, opening and closing to let food pass from your esophagus HEARTBURN GLOSSARY Esophagus: Tube connecting the mouth to the stomach; a passageway for food; part of the digestive

Omron Heart Rate Monitor Review and Giveaway

Hey Neighbors, Another great product for the Get Out and Get Active! An Omron Heart Rate Monitor ($59.99)! Once again due to my disc problem my daughter was the one to try this out. This is seriously not fair! Anyway, one of the great things about a heart rate monitor is that you can make sure you are exercising in your zone. You can monitor your heart rate and then adjust your pace for either a slower workout or a more intensive workout. This monitor comes witha high and low alert so you can make sure you stay right where you are supposed to. Not overdoing it, yet not taking it too easy! You can wear the wrist receiver on your wrist, or you can mount it on your bike or treadmill so it is easy for you to read. This Omron Heart Rate Monitor comes with: 1-Wrist Receiver Watch 1-Transmitter 1-Transmitter Strap (Chest size 29" to 55") 1-Receiver Mounting Bracket 1-Storage Case 2-"Lithium" Batteries (installed) 1-Instruction Manual (Above nice carry cas